Now It Is Stated Regarding Service Animals.

Martin Luther King day!

Many people living with hidden disabilities are being discriminated against daily.

“Hiddendisabilities” last post on wordpress.com was a reaction to the first “Dog Walking Area” I shared how all my rights are being denied under Fair Housing. The second message arrived on my door January 15, 2015.  ANIMALS This is not okay under any fair housing where disabled people live. The other concern is under HUD can pets be taken away from seniors?

DSCF7107

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Now It Is Stated Regarding Service Animals.”

  1. windchyme Says:

    Groans. Ok look up and call disability rights california. I am going through the tag fight with my animal control over here….TAG, I’m it now, my turn. Their base form that they make you fill out in order to get the tag is discriminatory and they want me to get rid of one of the service dogs according to the initial phone conversation (I have three disabled people in my house and we train our own service dogs). I told them to put their complaints in writing and send it over to me and that was about a month ago….not a thing yet. They told my dr not to write a dr letter because they don’t care about dr letters and won’t accept it so now having to show her that it doesn’t matter what they say. Still, I’m not going to let grass grow under my feet and am preparing for battle.

    They are official with the state of California and they can issue you a letter saying that all of that is illegal. I’d also write a letter requesting reasonable accommodation in their rules about where you may take your dog to potty due to your disabling condition. Get a dr letter to back you up and send with- this is just to make sure you’ve done all you can be expected to do. Call disability rights california and see what they say to do and you can file with Ca dept of fair employment and housing.

    I have disability rights california working on my thing with the animal control and waiting for a letter from them and in the meantime I am refusing to comply.

    • hiddendisabilities Says:

      Hi Wind, Have you thought about calling your local news station they usually like human interest stories? I am sorry to read about your fight it adds salt to a wound we already live with.

      Channel 10 news investigative reports had taken this on and they got it me the help I needed. I got all of my rights back in writing per the councilman’s request. I think in a week they will be airing my story. My docs office was so upset that they wanted to give a statement.
      I am glad all has ended well.

      • windchyme Says:

        Well the Disability Rights letter came yesterday and they support me….they want me to get a particular dr letter so working on that…..still running through the processes. I’ve got a huge migraine dealing with it…

        Paula

  2. windchyme Says:

    By the way that spay and neuter thing ALSO does not apply to service dogs and they can’t require it. The picking up is only if you are physically capable and the location of pottying also depends on your physical capabilities.

  3. Kimberly Ryan Says:

    Hi Paula, It is nice to have your name.

    The process is so draining. How come we have to prove ourselves? Isn’t living with disabilities enough torcher. I know migraines I had to take a Maxalt last night because I had one before bed. I like Maxalt because it is a little sweet pill that dissolves under the tongue.
    What do you take?

    Chloe and I are sending paws of open doors your way. Please Keep me posted, Woof!

    Kimberly and Chloe

Leave a Reply

