Service Dogs And Hidden Disabilities

service

me and Chloe

This is an old article written about hidden disabilities and the use of a service dog and receiving a service dog tag, which recognize a person in need of their service dog. (Excuse edits)

I am on a mission can you please approve of this post for people with hidden disabilities and the use of a service
dog.
I am beside myself as this is about having a service dog and who gets to decide who receives a service dog tag and who doesn’t get a tag.  I just lost my cocker spaniel service dog after thirteen and half years. She filled many needs in my life as recognized by my physicians and veterinarian.

I am starting a new journey with my new rescue pup. I filled out the forms from my local animal control. I sent a portion of my bio about what my previous service dog and I had accomplished over the years of hard work. The information is on my business card about “the Hayliegh project” which helps people with hidden disabilities find solutions concerning physical needs and their civil rights. Google Kimberly Ryan San Diego canine companions about how Hayliegh became my service dog and how instinctively assisted me. We also landed on the cover of the San Diego pet magazine which discussed my manuscript regarding hidden disabilities and discrimination.

I don’t understand the Hayliegh project has helped establish other people make their dogs as service dogs both elderly due to hearing and others with fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue and mental illness. Although I don’t look disabled I live in special housing because of my disease. I chose to eat well and take excellent care of my body. This creates a lot of hostility causing excessive discrimination for me. My reasons for being disabled are not visible but once again I feel that I am being discriminated against.

My new puppy Chloe is in training as a service dog. She has already performed tasks for me by alerting me when I shouldn’t go outside, when my disease is in full flare. We are attending star pup classes and other classes. She has already retrieved medication for me. Next we will work on the phone. Both my veterinarian and physicians have seen us together and approve of her as my service dog due to the severity of my disease.

The truth is that I want to scream so loud that is painful to hold in. I keep repeating to myself “are you kidding me!” I pay the price daily from having a disease that is torturing and acutely devastating to my life. And I am not alone.

It has been so devastating that suicide has crossed both myself and many friends I have met via blog sites. The blog sites have given me and many others a place to voice our pain and depression. My sister became sick with this condition and recently took her life. I can’t blame her as being riddled with auto immune and connective tissue disease is devastating to live with.

With all this shared I cannot believe that the local animal control where I live will not grant me a service dog tag. People with other hidden disabilities like autism, ptsd, mental issues, epilepsy, and brain injuries can have a service dog. And I have fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue immune disease which run rapid through my body daily. I suffer in the most acute severe pain that leaves me on many days where I cannot do life.

My doctors are upset and writing letters on my behalf regarding my disease and the benefits of having a service dog. I am entitled to a service dog discount at my vet’s office but because San Diego animal control refused to give me a tag, they resisted me the discount until today, as they know the value and assistance both physically and emotionally that my new service dog pup has brought to my life.

I have been in touch with the ADA and they are upset with my situation. They know the value and assistance my last service dog gave me and the work I am doing with my new service pup.

Under ADA federal law any dog can be a service dog to anyone disabled as long as the dog services a need and meets certain requirements.

I ask everyone to please approve this post please share it on your wall as hidden disabilities need a voice and support.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 Responses to “Service Dogs And Hidden Disabilities”

  1. Pete Belardino Says:

    I’ll share this to my wall Kim !

    • hiddendisabilities Says:

      Pete I appreciate the support as I have been so disappointed at the treatment people with hidden disabilities have to endure. I don’t know if I shared this, but I wrote a manuscript which has taken many many many yrs , it is one of my missions anyway a good / great friend has been working with me on 2nd rewrites. It is about discrimination, the abuse of the public and hidden disabilities.
      Chloe sends a WOOF!

      • Pete Belardino Says:

        You can thank the government for a lot of the discrimination ! If our elected officials would openly talk about things like this, the public WOULD listen……they believe everything else they’re told !

      • hiddendisabilities Says:

        Discriminationis a horrible feeling to live with and have done too. I am reminded of much i have lost with this disease. Today I choose to look at my glass half full rather then half empty thanks to God and LDN.

        Sent from Windows Mail

  2. Bethany Says:

    Hi there very nice website!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Superb .
    . I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds also? I’m glad to find numerous
    helpful info here within the publish, we want
    work out extra techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

  3. running water sound in car Says:

    Wow, that’s what I was seeking for, what a material! present here at this website, thanks admin of this web page.

  4. hiddendisabilities Says:

    It has been four years this last July that my little sister took her life. She became severely sick from Breast Implants then explanted and became worse. Dr well known breast explant doctor shares on her webinar that one out of three women will suffer horrific illnesses even after explant. #Breastimplantillness #TheSecretLifeofHiddenDisabilities (Amazon.com) #breastexplantsupportgroups
    The story goes…..
    Today a small ceremony was held for my little sister who could not bare the discomfort of this disease and live in herself anymore. The pain, the medications and the loss of ones life was more then she could take.

    The ceremony was calm and bittersweet sage was smoking among the trees in Alpine. We all took turns sharing the memories we had with her and it was nice to hear how she touched peoples lives.

    It is over now and life continues I hope and ask if anyone reading this ever feels like you cannot take life anymore reach out to those of us on line blogging as we are always here. the beautiful thing about the internet now is there are so many blog sites on health issues and support. you can even reach out on my blog and we are here for you.

    Chloe attended the service with me and I was worried about her when I saw a woman riding by on her horse I was worried she may start barking being that she is only 6 months old. I took action and gave her the “we see” command then “leave it” command. I used my hand signals along with my words. She didn’t bark at all she grumbled lowly enough that she didn’t disturb the ceremony.

    My dog trainer said as a service dog we have to be one paw ahead of our dog in training.

  5. hiddendisabilities Says:

    Reblogged this on Hiddendisabilities's Blog and commented:

    Please FB friends share on your wall.

  6. hiddendisabilities Says:

    Chloe is an angel of a service pup and starting to recognize certain health conditions, recognition is key. I am training her to retrieve medications and since I cannot keep them low due to puppy chewing I am having her smell the meds put them in front of her I turn away and give her the command to retrieve the meds and she brings them and drops them at my side.

    I was out shopping the other day and dropped something while sitting down and due to pain having to bend over was more then overwhelming, so i ask Chloe to pick them up and she did.

    Wow pretty cool, WOOF!

  7. hiddendisabilities Says:

    I am getting help from the Disability rights program in San Diego regarding Chloe in training with me to be my service dog assisting me with my many health issues. It brought up all kinds of feelings and sadness. It has been many years living with this disease and having to find the courage to keep going every day. For me having so many dreams shattered due to this condition is challenging.

    I am choosing to look at my glass half full not half empty. I feel blessed and fortunate.

  8. after tummy tuck exercise Says:

    Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post!
    It’s the little changes which will make the most significant changes.

    Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

