Hayliegh Project

What a beautiful day the sun is shining and we are up.  We did our morning ritual and then I decided to hit the Pilates Machine and then our sweet friend Jeanine said she would watch Hayliegh, so I could hike up cowl’s mountain.  I haven’t hiked it in a while due to Hayliegh’s condition. This was areal treat for me.

On my hike I saw some old friends like Larry he hikes the mountain twice a day and his wonderful wife Wanda sits at the bottom waiting for him w/ their black pug who snorts and grunts, cute little thing. I met Dexter the little terrier who melted the mountain worriers hearts.  The whole time I missed my Hayliegh and kept saying this is what it will be like when she leaves this earth.  I practices saying “I love you Hayliegh” when I thought of her.

I went to pick up Hayliegh at Jeanine and ended up making a homemade apple pie for her.  I love cooking and she loved having my culinary skills in her kitchen.

I had to run to the store for a few things and while in the store the checker said I cannot have Hayliegh in the grocery cart which I completely understand the reasons, yet i couldn’t understand why i see so many people doing that wi smaller service dogs.  I then asked her what about the other dogs I see in the basket will you be asking them to take their dog out?  She replied they have a little blanket on the seat and I said great I will do the same.  She then said the other dogs are smaller and I said my dog will fine on the cart.  She said your dog isn’t as tiny and I “she fits just fine on the seat of the cart and she will be on a blanket.”  I went up to her quietly in the line and shared that if my dog can’t and others can it equals = discrimination.  In the past the same store has come to me on occasion about service dog laws.  Thought to ponder?  PS I have made a note to check on service dogs and grocery carts post tomorrow.

Sweet Jeanine had me buy some sharp Cheddar cheese to go w/ that apple pie and some hot tea.  It was a nice treat as I don’t eat dessert, so I splurged and had three bits and those three bits were scrmptious and the company equal.  Hayliegh enjoyed her treats and now home she is having yellow squash as her dessert time lasts for hours.

5 Responses to “Hayliegh Project”

  1. Mary Says:

    Hi Kimberly and Hayleigh. That grocery store need to be reported. Or maybe the employee needs to be reported to the most senior store manager! They are not allowed to decide what size service dogs they let in to their store or to their carts.

    Wishing you a good day. Envious that you can hike still!

    • hiddendisabilities Says:

      Amen, I think I will phone the ADA and then call the store. I could tell you felt the same way I did “not okay.” I just put a call to an ADA program and they are going to call back. I will return soon.

    • hiddendisabilities Says:

      Hi Mary,
      I did my reserch and the health department does not support any dog in the grocery cart. I did call the manager of the store in Q and apprecaited my info.

    • hiddendisabilities Says:

      Not sure if I have replied as i just got this notice today that I had messages. I was notified that I could file a law suite if I go back in which I will have too for my supplies I will contact my att if they refuse me in the store w/ Hayliegh in the basket. I tried to use my new trailer/stroller just not enough room for me put everything i have to buy and her. I am not able to carry and yet she still has the right to be w/ me.

    • hiddendisabilities Says:

      Not sure if I have replied as i just got this notice today that I had messages. I was notified that I could file a law suite if I go back in which I will have too for my supplies I will contact my att if they refuse me in the store w/ Hayliegh in the basket. I tried to use my new trailer/stroller just not enough room for me put everything i have to buy and her. I am not able to carry and yet she still has the right to be w/ me.

Leave a Reply

